You are here

Steel Threads - For Those Who Are Left (Self Release)

Star rating: 

Oldham-based acoustic folk-rockers Steel Threads return with their second full-length album and follow up to 2012's TIMING IS EVERYTHING, once again featuring the sparring partnership of Neil Wardleworth on guitar, bass drum and vocals and Laura Wilcockson on violin and vocals, with further contributions from Stuart Eastham on double bass, who also produces the album. Pledge-funded by their growing legion of fans, the new album once again attempts and succeeds in capturing the bands live sound, which is fundamentally acoustic based, with a distinctive rock sensibility. With a new batch of original songs, mostly from the pen of Wardleworth, the album features some instantly accessible songs such as the gentle Beautiful Friend, the bluesy The Boy Who Lost His Way and the dreamy Follow You, featuring the lead vocal of Laura Wilcockson, not to mention the Doctor Who styled Sci-Fi shenanigans midway through the epic title song. 

Allan Wilkinson
Northern Sky